Return to Homepage

Read It Write It Sell It

Read It Write It Sell It

My regular look at all things book! Find out hints and tips on how to write and publish your own novel, as well as my recommendations for 'Book of the Week' plus courses, news and updates from the world of publishing!

Sign up for the regular newsletter to get updates on my newest stories too, as they become available.

Beginners' Guide to self-publishing, and info about all my books - click this link here.

Book of the Week - Anatomy of a Scandal by Sarah Vaughan This week's choice is Anatomy of a Scandal by Sarah Vaughan. About a woman who has to protect her family from the lies that might ruin them, and the barrister determined to make him pay. Gripping psychological drama – just the type I like, especially after I’ve been reading light hearted chic lit. And it says for fans of Apple Tree Yard and The Good Wife. I’d have been a barrister in another life so this appealed to me hugely. Really highly reviewed as well so that always gets my attention, on audible. I like that this one has several…
book(s) of the week - Little Teashop of Horrors AND award winning short by Jane Lovering Another top story from one of my fave witty romcom authors, Jane Lovering. Jane is fresh back from this week's RONA awards (Romantic Novelists' Association Dinner was on Monday.) There, she won 'shorter romantic novel' category award with 'Christmas at the Little Village School,' so I'm pleased to include that one too as a second Book of the Week! Go here for more info and congrats to Jane! Also to Julie Cohen for best Contemporary Novel award! See previously for the review of her fab novel Together, and do get it if you want a truly thought-provoking read. However since…
Book of the Week - 'The Shadow of the Soul' - Dog-faced Gods book 3 by Sarah Pinborough The thing about finding an author you love, and a book in a series, is that you can immediately download the next one as soon as you finished the last one! So having ploughed through books 1 & 2, I immediately picked up with the continuing adventures of D.I Cass Jones in the somewhat dystopian version of London created by Pinborough, inhabited by a sub-culture with a supernatural element which bubbles under throughout this trilogy. And as you progress through the scintillating chapters towards the resolution, you can but think that the climax should be amazing! She is very skilled…
book of the week - This Could Change Everything by Jill Mansell If you fancy a good read, lovely Jill Mansell’s ‘This Could Change Everything’ is out – and it’s another super family relationship drama with a touch of romance thrown in, as Essie struggles to deal with the fall out after the letter she wrote but didn’t intend the whole world to see is sent out by mistake… Always worth reading, Jill Mansell’s books and she’s a lovely lady as well. On the one hand, if Essie hadn't written that letter - the one that only her best friend was meant to see - then she'd still be living like an…
Book of the Week - A Matter of Blood by Sarah Pinborough;  & episodic podcasts for running; and the latest from Retreats for You Deep within Sarah Pinborough's mind must lie something truly scary. And genius. Her book 'Behind Her Eyes' had such an amazing twist, I made it my book of the year. And this next one is captivating me albeit in a different way. It also has a touch of the supernatural, which I love. And great pacy dialogue - I can easily imagine it as a TV drama. Following a cop in a slightly dystopian alternative reality, it takes us through a police procedural with an anti-hero. If you love robert Galbraith, get this - and the narrator is great too.…